Marcy Sheiner’s “I Write in the Laundromat”

 

I write in the Laundromat

I am a woman

and between wash & dry cycles

I write.

 

I write while the beans soak

and with children’s voices in my ear

I spell out words for scrabble

while I am writing.

 

I write as I drive to the office

where I type a man’s letters

and when he goes to lunch

I write.

 

When the kids go out the door

on Saturday I write

and while the frozen dinners thaw

I write.

 

I write on the toilet

and in the bathtub

and when I appear to be talking

I am often writing.

 

I write in the Laundromat

while the kids soak

with scrabbled ears

and beans in the office

and frozen toilets

and in the car

between wash and dry.

 

And your words

and my words

and her words

and their words

and I am a woman

and I write in the Laundromat.

One thought on “Marcy Sheiner’s “I Write in the Laundromat”

Leave a Reply

