“Writing is easy. You just open a vein and bleed.” -Red Smith

“You yearn to turn out a book-length, your typewriter is silently shrieking abuse, you are itching to go. First read! Read the work of the top-notch writers in your field. They know how! Read first for entertainment, then reread for analysis. Soak yourself in their stuff–for atmosphere, color, technique.” -Fred East

“The trap into which all writers have, or will fall into, of writing The Great American Watchamacallit, is such an uncluttered and inviting one that from time to time I’m sure even the greatest will have to pull themselves short by the Shift key to remind themselves that it is story first that they should write.” -Harian Ellison

“One thing that helps is to give myself permission to write badly. I tell myself that I’m going to do my five or 10 pages no matter what, and that I can always tear them up the following morning if I want. I’ll have lost nothing–writing and tearing up five pages would leave me no further behind than if I took the day off.” -Lawrence Block

“The writing of a novel is taking life as it already exists, not to report it but to make an object, toward the end that the finished work might contain this life inside it and offer it to the reader. The essence will not be, of course, the same thing as the raw material; it is not even of the same family of things. The novel is something that never was before and will not be again.” -Eudora Welty

Leave a Reply

