Proper Openings

Admit it–these are some of the best bits in books, right?

As I’m botching my way through one of my own, here are 10 gems that I ran across today:

1. “Christmas crept into Pine Grove like a creeping Christmas thing: dragging garland, ribbon, and sleigh bells, oozing eggnogg, reeking of pine, and threatening festive doom like a cold sore under the mistletoe.” -The Stupidest Angel by Christopher Moore

2. “Lolita, light of my life, fire of my loins. My sin, my soul. Lo-lee-ta: the tip of the tongue taking a trip of three steps down the palate to tap, at three, on the teeth. Lo. Lee. Ta.” -Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov

3. “The man in black fled across the desert, and the gunslinger followed” -The Gunslinger by Stephen King
4. “Far out in the uncharted backwaters of the unfashionable end of the Western Spiral arm of the Galaxy lies a small unregarded yellow sun. Orbiting this at a distance of roughly ninety-eight million miles is an utterly insignificant little blue-green planet whose ape-descended life forms are so amazingly primitive that they still think digital watches are a pretty neat idea.” -The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams
5. “I am a sick man…I am a spiteful man. I am an unattractive man. I believe my liver is diseased” – Notes From the Underground by Fyodor Dostoyevsky
6. “It was a pleasure to burn.” -Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury
7. “In a hole in the ground there lived a hobbit. Not a nasty, dirty, wet hole, filled with the ends of worms and an oozy smell, nor yet a dry, bare, sandy hole with nothing in it to sit down on or to eat: it was a hobbit-hole, and that means comfort.” -The Hobbit, by J.R.R. Tolkien
8. “It was the day my grandmother exploded.” -The Crow Road, by Iain Banks
9. “There was a boy called Eustace Clarence Scrubb, and he almost deserved it.” -The Voyage of the Dawn Treader by C.S. Lewis
10. “All children, except one, grow up” -Peter Pan by J.M.Barrie
2 thoughts on “Proper Openings

Leave a Reply

