Assignment: Make Up an Interpretation For a Dream You Had

RW: “I never remember my dreams, you say one!

HP: “You must remember one of them.

RW: “Well, I dreamed I was playing Quidditch the other night. What d’you reckon that means?

HP: “Probably that you’re going to be eaten by a giant marshmallow or something.

*********************

The Dream:

We flounce in, each one of us a princess. Dressed, in fluffy white dresses with layers and layers of tulle, it’d take a dozen flower girls to carry each of our trains. But we aren’t getting married. Not today.

We sit across from the gentlemen in their black-and-white penguin bow-tie suits, looking slick and quite classically cool. Like they know, perhaps, the reason for this occasion.

We are at the YMCA. They drained all the water from the pool and lined it, instead, with dinner tables. Those of us in the deeper end sat at a bit of an angle, which

made it all the harder

to eat our sloppy joes.

******************

The Interpretation:

Keep in mind that I had this dream when I was in 7th grade, and we would walk to the YMCA 3 times a week for gym class…

I’m worried about growing up.  I feel uncomfortable and overdressed wearing this fancy prom-like getup to go somewhere familiar. Also: due to the whiteness of all of our dresses, I could argue that I’m uncomfortable with the idea of all of us growing up, moving on, and getting married.

I’ll feel underwater, like I’m sinking, but still be able to breathe.

Also: I’ll be nervous about messing up in front of other people: case in point, the sloppy joe sandwiches.

*********

This seemed… a lot more realistic than the assignment was probably going for…

Leave a Reply

